Several crops are known as "Millets", for example Foxtail Millet

The term Millet does not refer to just one taxonomic group but rather to an agronomic group of crop species. There are several types of millets, which are all small-seeded grains. What they have in common is that they are usually grown in drought-prone areas.

Most millets are used as food, to make flour, to prepare alcoholic drinks, or used as fodder.

Millets info and facts

Family: Poaceae
Order: Poales
Distribution: Africa (especially in Sahel area) and Asia: Nigeria, Niger, Burkina Faso, Mali, Sudan, Uganda, Chad, Ethiopia, India, China

Main millet species

Pearl millet (Pennisetum glaucum)

Foxtail millet (Setaria italica)

Proso millet (Panicum miliaceum)

Finger millet (Eleusine coracana)

Some minor millet species

Japanese barnyard millet (Echinochloa esculenta)

Indian barnyard millet (Echinochloa frumentacea)

Hairy crabgrass (Digitaria sanguinalis)

White fonio (Digitaria exilis)

Note that sometimes also some other cereals (Tef, Sorghum, Job’s tears) are considered to be included with the group of ‘millets’.

For more information on individual millet species click on the respective link.

Several crops are known as "Millets", for example Foxtail Millet

Scroll to Top